You Call Him Dr Jones!

I’m reading at You Call Him Dr Jones!, a celebration of everyone’s favourite whip-cracking, gun-slinging, hoochie-smooching imaginary archaeologist. I’m also in charge of procuring eyeballs for the eyeball soup cocktails. But here’s my poem, a pantoum based on the scene on the boat where Marion forces Indy to ask her to kiss him. Sigh.

It’s Not The Years, Honey, It’s the Mileage

            (for the 30th anniversary of Raiders of the Lost Ark)

 

There are places where it doesn’t hurt:

elbow, forehead, eyelid, lips.

If you won’t ask me, I’ll make you ask me –

a kiss felt in a million mouths.

 

Elbow, forehead, eyelid, lips.

One kiss used, then lost, then sold to a museum,

a kiss felt in a million mouths,

a story with sequels and sub-text.

 

One kiss used, then lost, then sold to a museum.

I’m not the first girl to have travelled with pirates –

a story with sequels and sub-text.

Sometimes we all go out in a borrowed dress.

 

I’m not the first girl to have travelled with pirates –

Scrapes and grazes, bullet-nicks.

Sometimes we all go out in a borrowed dress,

a lovely moon-rock coloured dress.

 

Scrapes and grazes, bullet-nicks.

If you won’t ask me, I’ll make you ask me.

A lovely moon-rock coloured dress.

There are places where it doesn’t hurt.

2 thoughts on “You Call Him Dr Jones!

  1. Grill November 8, 2011 / 8:24 pm

    Lovely – so annoyed I missed that event! :((

  2. Lorna Michel December 2, 2011 / 3:47 pm

    Love this

Leave a Reply

